5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites
4 mins read

5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites

The World is full of so many amazing historical and cultural landmarks that you’ll be in awe. UNESCO has designated some of these landmarks as World Heritage Sites owing to their historical, cultural, and scientific significance. 

List of Top 5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites

These sites are some of the most beautiful landmarks in the world that you must add to your bucket list.

The Colosseum

  • The Colosseum is the largest standing amphitheater in Rome, Italy which is elliptical in shape.
  • It was built by the Flavian emperors and has a great historical significance.
  • The Colosseum is known as the architectural and engineering Marvel of the Romans.
  • Today several tourists from around the world visit this landmark and are spell-bound by its beauty.

Historic City of Ayutthaya

  • The Historic City of Ayutthaya was founded in 1350 and then it was known as the second capital of the Siamese Kingdom.
  • It is spread over 289 hectares of land and is currently located in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya province in Thailand.
  • Today there is Ayutthaya Historical Park that houses the ruins of The Historic City of Ayutthaya.
  • There are several park sites in this historical park that you can explore, like Wat Chaiwatthanaram, Wat Kasatrathiraj, etc.
  • It was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991.

The Taj Mahal

  • One of the seven wonders of the world, the Taj Mahal, a white marble mausoleum in Agra, India is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • It was built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in the memory of his wife Mumtaz whose tomb is inside the monument.
  • Taj Mahal is built on 17 hectares of land and it also houses the tomb of Shah Jahan along with his wife.
  • The monument was constructed by Ustad Ahmad Lahori and the architecture is breathtaking with white marbles and surrounding gardens.
  • The Taj Mahal is considered to be the symbol of love and it was designated in 1983 as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The Great Pyramid of Giza

  • The Great Pyramid of Giza in Egypt is one of the seven wonders of the world and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 
  • It is the oldest historical landmark that dates back to the Khufu Dynasty IV.
  • The Great Pyramid of Giza is a part of Giza Pyramid Complex located in the northeastern side of the complex.
  • It is the world’s tallest man-made structure made 3800 years ago.
  • The height of the pyramid is 138.5 meters. There are three main chambers inside the Great Pyramid- King’s, Queen’s, and the lowest one was cut into bedrock.
  • The pyramid is made of granite, limestone, and mortar.
  • It is one of those historical landmarks that are etched in history books forever and you must visit this place.

 Mada’in Salih

  • Mada’in Salih, also known as Hegra today is an archaeological site and also a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • It is located in the Hejaz region or Medina province in Saudi Arabia.
  • Archaeologists have found remnants of Roman and Lihyanite civilization here.
  • It was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site IN 2008.
  • There are several monumental tombs from 1st century BC to 1st Century AD. 
  • All these tombs have decorated facades and are known to have both religious and historical significance.
  • In this site, you can find 50 inscriptions from the pre-Nabataean Period which also has some cave drawings.
  • Mada’in Salih is one of the architectural marvels of the Nabataeans and you can also appreciate their hydraulic expertise in this site.

There are several UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the world. However, the above five are some of the best and it also gives evidence of the rich history and culture that existed in the past.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *